Is the Stock Market Open on Memorial Day 2020?

Here's your guide to "Is the stock market open Memorial Day?"

Memorial Day is Monday, May 25 this year. Is the stock market open Memorial Day? The answer is no — all stock and bond markets will be closed.

It’s easy to remember some of the holidays the stock markets are closed, such as Christmas and Thanksgiving. But other holidays might be trickier to figure out. You’re about to learn everything you need to know about when the stock market is open and how to determine when it’s not.

Is the Stock Market Open Memorial Day 2020?

The U.S. stock markets (including the Dow Jones, NASDAQ and the NYSE), as well as the bond markets, will be closed on Monday, May 25, 2020 in observance of Memorial Day. The markets will open again on Tuesday, May 26 for trading as usual.

The next holiday the markets will be closed is Friday, July 3, for Independence Day (Fourth of July). Confused? Just remember this: When a national holiday falls on the weekend, as the Fourth of July does, the market closes on the Friday before the holiday or the Monday after the holiday. Specifically, it closes on Friday for holidays landing on a Saturday, and it closes on Monday for holidays landing on a Sunday.

Save for Your Future
Sponsors of

USA flag
What Holidays Is the Stock Market Closed in 2020?

Keep this reference chart handy to know when the stock market is closed in 2020:

US Bond and Stock Market Holidays 2020
Holiday Date Day
New Year’s Day Jan. 1, 2020 Wednesday
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Jan. 20, 2020 Monday
Presidents Day Feb. 17, 2020 Monday
Good Friday April 10, 2020 Friday
Memorial Day May 25, 2020 Monday
Independence Day July 3, 2020 Friday
Labor Day Sept. 7, 2020 Monday
Thanksgiving Nov. 26, 2020 Thursday
Black Friday* Nov. 27, 2020 Friday
Christmas Eve* Dec. 24, 2020 Thursday
Christmas Dec. 25, 2020 Friday
New Year’s Day Jan. 1, 2021 Friday
*Early close at 2 p.m. for NASDAQ and NYSE, early close at 1 p.m. for bond markets

Here are other important dates to remember for the bond markets:

Additional Days the Bond Markets Will Close in 2020
Holiday Date Day
Maundy Thursday, early close at 2 p.m. April 9, 2020 Thursday
Friday Before Memorial Day, early close at 2 p.m. May 22, 2020 Friday
Day Before Independence Day, early close at 2 p.m. July 2, 2020 Thursday
Columbus Day Oct. 12, 2020 Monday
Veterans Day Nov. 11, 2020 Wednesday
New Year’s Eve, early close at 2 p.m. Dec. 31, 2020 Thursday

Back to top

What Days Are the Stock Markets Closed?

Stock markets are open Monday through Friday for regular trading, but expect the American stock markets to close for nine holidays per year and the bond market to close for eleven holidays per year. All markets close on:

  • Christmas
  • Good Friday
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • Memorial Day
  • New Year’s Day
  • Presidents Day
  • Thanksgiving

The bond markets also close on:

  • Columbus Day
  • Veterans Day

Back to top

More From GOBankingRates

Related Video

About the Author

Cynthia Bowman

Cynthia Paez Bowman is a personal finance writer with degrees from American University in international business and journalism. Besides writing about personal finance, she writes about real estate, interior design and architecture. Her work has been featured in MSN, Brex, Freshome, MyMove, Emirates’ Open Skies magazine and more.

Read More