Social Security Payment Schedule 2023: What Dates To Watch Out For

Aged couple enjoying each other stock photo
Zinkevych / iStock.com

All eyes are on the first Social Security payments of 2023, in which the record-breaking cost of living adjustment (COLA) will start to be reflected in the checks of 66 million beneficiaries.

Learn: Here’s Why 1 in 5 Americans Are Considering Switching Banks
Advice: With a Recession Looming, Make These 3 Retirement Moves To Stay On Track
Find Out: Can I Draw Social Security at 62 and Still Work Full Time?

The new payment amounts in 2023 will reflect an increase of 8.7%, which is the highest adjustment the Social Security Administration has offered since 1981 and is the fourth biggest COLA in the history of the program. That will equate to an extra $146 per check, on average, says AARP.

While Supplemental Security Income recipients will receive their first checks on December 30 (since SSI checks go out on the 1st of the month, but that is a holiday and weekend day in 2023), the payment schedule for general Social Security recipients are still on Wednesdays depending on birthdate. As GOBankingRates.com has previously reported, that cadence is as follows: 

  • For birth dates that fall on the 1st through the 10th, recipients are paid on the second Wednesday of each month.
  • For birth dates that fall on the 11th through the 20th, recipients are paid on the third Wednesday of each month.
  • For birth dates that fall on the 21st through the 31st, recipients are paid on the fourth Wednesday of each month.
Retire Comfortably

Given this guideline, here is the full payment schedule for Social Security in 2023. Open up that new calendar and mark these dates.

January 2023 Payments

Second Wednesday: January 11

Third Wednesday: January 18

Fourth Wednesday: January 25

February 2023 Payments

Second Wednesday: February 8

Third Wednesday: February 15

Fourth Wednesday: February 22 

March 2023 Payments

Second Wednesday: March 8

Third Wednesday: March 15

Fourth Wednesday: March 22

Take Our Poll: How Big of a Sign-Up Bonus Would It Take for You To Change Banks?

April 2023 Payments

Second Wednesday: April 12 

Third Wednesday: April 19

Fourth Wednesday: April 26

May 2023 Payments

Second Wednesday: May 10

Third Wednesday: May 17

Fourth Wednesday: May 24

June 2023 Payments

Second Wednesday: June 14

Third Wednesday: June 21

Fourth Wednesday: June 28 

July 2023 Payments

Second Wednesday: July 12

Third Wednesday: July 19

Fourth Wednesday: July 26

August 2023 Payments

Second Wednesday: August 9

Third Wednesday: August 16 

Fourth Wednesday: August 23

September 2023 Payments

Second Wednesday: September 13 

Third Wednesday: September 20

Fourth Wednesday: September 27 

October 2023 Payments

Second Wednesday: October 11

Third Wednesday: October 18

Fourth Wednesday: October 25

Retire Comfortably

November 2023 Payments

Second Wednesday: November 8

Third Wednesday: November 15

Fourth Wednesday: November 22

December 2023 Payments

Second Wednesday: December 13

Third Wednesday: December 20

Fourth Wednesday: December 27

More From GOBankingRates

Share This Article:

facebook sharing button
twitter sharing button
linkedin sharing button
email sharing button
Retire Comfortably

About the Author

Selena Fragassi joined GOBankingRates.com in 2022, adding to her 15 years in journalism with bylines in Spin, Paste, Nylon, Popmatters, The A.V. Club, Loudwire, Chicago Sun-Times, Chicago Tribune, Chicago Magazine and others. She currently resides in Chicago with her rescue pets and is working on a debut historical fiction novel about WWII. She holds a degree in fiction writing from Columbia College Chicago.
Learn More

BEFORE YOU GO

See Today's Best
Banking Offers

1pximage