Are Banks Open Today? See Full List of All Bank Holidays

Shot of a young african american woman with a coffee cup using laptop in kitchen at home.
NickyLloyd / Getty Images

Not knowing which banks are open on holidays can be frustrating, especially if you need to deposit a check or inquire about a loan only to discover that your branch is closed. Because banks are private enterprises, they can choose to remain open just about anytime they want, including Saturday and Sunday. However, just about all banks in the U.S. close to observe federal holidays.

Special circumstances might also cause banks to shut their doors, such as the COVID-19 pandemic. Because of social distancing rules imposed during the pandemic, many banks have closed branches or implemented special rules on when and how customers can visit a branch. The best way to find out when a bank is open is to contact it directly or check its website.

If you’re unsure which national holidays banks in the U.S. observe — and whether they’ll be open — keep reading to learn more:

What National Holidays Are Also Bank Holidays?

Each bank can set its own schedule, but most adhere to the federal holiday calendar observed by the U.S. Federal Reserve, which outlines the 10 federal holidays that are also banking holidays. Here’s a quick look:

  • New Year’s Day
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.)
  • Presidents’ Day (Washington’s birthday)
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Columbus Day
  • Veterans Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas Day

You can expect your bank to close its physical branches on these holidays every year, though the actual dates for most holidays change from year to year. The exceptions are New Year’s Day, which always falls on Jan. 1; Independence Day (July 4); Veterans Day (Nov. 11); and Christmas Day (Dec. 25).

More From Your Money
Sponsors of

Some banks also close or have reduced hours on Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve. Easter, another major holiday, always falls on a Sunday, so most banks are closed anyway.

When holidays fall on a Saturday, banks typically close the preceding Friday. When holidays fall on a Sunday, banks close the following Monday.

woman on laptop
What Holidays Are Banks Closed?

If you find yourself wondering if there are any banks open today, here’s a quick look at holidays when most banks will be closed for 2020 through 2022:

Are Banks Open Today?
Holidays Bank Status 2020 2021 2022
New Year’s Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Wednesday, Jan. 1 Friday, Jan. 1 Saturday, Jan. 1
Orthodox Christmas Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Tuesday, Jan. 7 Thursday, Jan. 7 Friday, Jan. 7
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Monday, Jan. 20 Monday, Jan. 18 Monday, Jan. 17
Presidents’ Day (Washington’s Birthday) Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Monday Feb. 17 Monday, Feb. 15 Monday, Feb. 21
Lincoln’s Birthday Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Wednesday, Feb. 12 Friday, Feb. 12 Saturday, Feb. 12
Mardi Gras Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Tuesday, Feb. 25 Tuesday, Feb. 16 Tuesday, March 1
Ash Wednesday Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Wednesday, Feb. 26 Wednesday, Feb. 17 Wednesday, March 2
St. Patrick’s Day Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Tuesday, March 17 Wednesday, March 17 Thursday, March 17
Purim Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Tuesday, March 10 Friday, Feb. 26 Friday, March 18
Passover Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Thursday, April 9 Sunday, March 28 Saturday, April 16
Holi Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Tuesday, March 10 Monday, March 29 Friday, March 18
Good Friday Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Friday, April 10 Friday, April 2 Friday, April 15
Easter Not a Federal Reserve holiday; because Easter falls on Sunday, check to see if your bank is open Sunday, April 12 Sunday, April 4 Sunday, April 17
Ramadan Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Friday, April 24 Tuesday, April 13 Sunday, April 3
Memorial Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Monday, May 25 Monday, May 31 Monday, May 30
Eid al-Fitr
Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Sunday, May 24 Thursday, May 13 Tuesday, May 3
Independence Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Saturday, July 4 Sunday, July 4  (observed Monday,
July 5)
Monday, July 4
Eid al-Adha
Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Friday, July 31 Tuesday, July 20 Sunday, July 10
Labor Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Monday, Sept. 7 Monday, Sept. 6 Monday, Sept. 5
Patriot Day Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Friday, Sept. 11  Saturday, Sept. 11 Sunday, Sept. 11
Rosh Hashanah Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Saturday, Sept. 19 Tuesday, Sept. 7 Monday, Sept. 26
Yom Kippur Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Monday, Sept. 28 Thursday, Sept. 16 Wednesday, Oct. 5
Columbus Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Monday, Oct. 12 Monday, Oct. 11 Monday, Oct. 10
Halloween Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Saturday, Oct. 31 Sunday, Oct. 31 Monday, Oct. 31
Diwali Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Saturday, Nov. 14 Thursday, Nov. 4 Monday, Oct. 24
Election Day Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Tuesday, Nov. 3 Tuesday, Nov. 2 Tuesday, Nov. 5
Veterans Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Wednesday, Nov. 11 Thursday, Nov. 11 Friday, Nov. 11
Thanksgiving Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Thursday, Nov. 26 Thursday, Nov. 25 Thursday, Nov. 24
Black Friday (day after Thanksgiving) Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Friday, Nov. 27 Friday, Nov. 26 Friday, Nov. 25
Hanukkah Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Friday, Dec. 11 Monday, Dec. 29 Monday, Dec. 19
Christmas Eve Not a Federal Reserve holiday; call your bank to find out if it is closed or has reduced hours Thursday, Dec. 24 Friday, Dec. 24 Saturday, Dec. 24
Christmas Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Friday, Dec. 25 Saturday, Dec. 25 Sunday, Dec. 25 (observed Monday, Dec. 26)
Kwanzaa
Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Saturday, Dec. 26 Sunday, Dec. 26 Monday, Dec. 26
New Year’s Eve
Not a Federal Reserve holiday; call your bank to find out if it is closed or has reduced hours Thursday, Dec. 31 Friday, Dec. 31 Saturday, Dec. 31

What To Do If Your Bank Is Closed

Even if your bank branch is closed, there are a few ways to take care of most of your banking needs. The easiest option is to access your online bank account or use the bank’s mobile app. Thanks to the popularity of online and mobile banking, a number of online-only banks offer a full range of products and services that let you handle most of the banking tasks you could at a branch, including transferring money and making deposits.

Another option is to visit an ATM. Although the functionality of each machine is different, almost all will let you make withdrawals regardless of whether they’re in your bank’s ATM network. You can also make deposits at most in-network ATMs and even some that are out of you’re bank’s network.

Grocery Store Bank Branches

Finally, you can also inquire about whether or not there are certain branches remaining open even on holidays. Bank branches located inside of a grocery store, for example, will often keep the same hours as the store, even if most of that bank’s other branches are closed. So check to see if there are any nearby store locations that you can visit during bank holidays.

Cynthia Measom contributed to the reporting for this article. 

About the Author

Joel Anderson is a business and finance writer with over a decade of experience writing about the wide world of finance. Based in Los Angeles, he specializes in writing about the financial markets, stocks, macroeconomic concepts and focuses on helping make complex financial concepts digestible for the retail investor.