Are Banks Open Today? See Full List of All Bank Holidays

Shot of a young african american woman with a coffee cup using laptop in kitchen at home.
NickyLloyd / Getty Images

Not knowing which banks are open on holidays can be frustrating, especially if you need to deposit a check or inquire about a loan only to discover that your branch is closed. Because banks are private enterprises, they can choose to remain open just about anytime they want, including Saturday and Sunday. However, just about all banks in the U.S. close to observe federal holidays.

Special circumstances might also cause banks to shut their doors, such as the COVID-19 pandemic. Because of social distancing rules imposed during the pandemic, many banks have closed branches or implemented rules on when and how customers can visit a branch. The best way to find out when a bank is open is to contact it directly or check its website.

You might be wondering which national holidays banks in the U.S. observe — or whether they’re open for business on Juneteenth, which was signed into law as a federal holiday by President Biden. Keep reading to learn more.

What National Holidays Are Also Bank Holidays?

Each bank can set its own schedule, but most adhere to the federal holiday calendar observed by the U.S. Federal Reserve, which outlines the 10 federal holidays that are also banking holidays. Here’s a quick look:

  • New Year’s Day
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day (Birthday of Martin Luther King Jr.)
  • Presidents Day (Washington’s Birthday)
  • Memorial Day
  • Juneteenth
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Columbus Day
  • Veterans Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas Day
A Better Way to Bank

You can expect your bank to close its physical branches on these holidays every year, though the actual dates for most holidays change from year to year. The exceptions are New Year’s Day, which always falls on Jan. 1; Juneteenth, which is June 19; Independence Day is July 4; Veterans Day is Nov. 11 and Christmas Day is Dec. 25.

Some banks also close or have reduced hours on Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve. Easter, another major holiday, always falls on a Sunday, so most banks are closed anyway.

When holidays fall on a Saturday, banks typically close the preceding Friday. When holidays fall on a Sunday, banks close the following Monday.

What Holidays Are Banks Closed?

If you find yourself wondering if there are any banks open today, here’s a quick look at holidays when most banks will be closed for 2022 through 2023:

Holidays Bank Status 2022 2023
New Year’s Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Saturday, Jan. 1 Sunday, Jan. 1
Orthodox Christmas Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Friday, Jan. 7 Saturday, Jan. 7
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Monday, Jan. 17 Monday, Jan. 16
Presidents Day (Washington’s Birthday) Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Monday, Feb. 21 Monday, Feb. 20
Lincoln’s Birthday Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Saturday, Feb. 12 Sunday, Feb. 12
Mardi Gras Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Tuesday, March 1 Tuesday, Feb. 21
Ash Wednesday Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Wednesday, March 2 Wednesday, Feb. 22
St. Patrick’s Day Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Thursday, March 17 Friday, March 17
Purim Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Friday, March 17 Tuesday, March 7
Passover Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Saturday, April 16 Thursday, April 13
Holi Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Saturday, March 19 Wednesday, March 8
Good Friday Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Friday, April 15 Friday, April 7
Easter Not a Federal Reserve holiday; because Easter falls on a Sunday, confirm with your bank Sunday, April 17 Sunday, April 9
Ramadan Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Saturday, April 2 Wednesday, March 22
Memorial Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Monday, May 30 Monday, May 29
Eid al-Fitr Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Tuesday, May 3 Saturday, April 22
Juneteenth Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Sunday, June 19 Monday, June 19
Independence Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Monday, July 4 Tuesday, July 4
Eid al-Adha Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Sunday, July 10 Thursday, June 29
Labor Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Monday, Sept. 5 Monday, Sept. 4
Patriot Day Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Sunday, Sept. 11 Monday, Sept. 11
Rosh Hashanah Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Sunday, Sept. 25 Friday, Sept. 15
Yom Kippur Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Wednesday, Oct. 5 Monday, Sept. 25
Columbus Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Monday, Oct. 10 Monday, Oct. 9
Halloween Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Monday, Oct. 31 Tuesday, Oct. 31
Diwali Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Monday, Oct. 24 Sunday, Nov. 12
Election Day Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Tuesday, Nov. 5 Tuesday, Nov. 7
Veterans Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Friday, Nov. 11 Saturday, Nov. 11 (observed Friday, Nov. 10)
Thanksgiving Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Thursday, Nov. 24 Thursday, Nov. 23
Black Friday (day after Thanksgiving) Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Friday, Nov. 25 Friday, Nov. 24
Hanukkah Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Monday, Dec. 19 Friday, Dec. 8
Christmas Eve Not a Federal Reserve holiday; call your bank to confirm hours Saturday, Dec. 24 Sunday, Dec. 24
Christmas Day Federal Reserve holiday; most U.S. banks will be closed Sunday, Dec. 25 (observed Monday, Dec. 26) Monday, Dec. 25
Kwanzaa Not a Federal Reserve holiday; U.S. banks will be open Monday, Dec. 26 Tuesday, Dec. 26
New Year’s Eve Not a Federal Reserve holiday; call your bank to confirm hours Saturday, Dec. 31 Sunday, Dec. 31
A Better Way to Bank

Are Banks Open or Closed on Juneteenth?

President Joe Biden signed off on legislation making Juneteenth a federal holiday, effectively immediately. Since Juneteenth falls on June 19, a Sunday, federal employees will observe the holiday on Monday in 2022.

Most major banks will close on Monday, June 20, but will be open as usual on Friday. The Federal Reserve’s financial services likewise remain open on Friday, but will close on Monday to observe the holiday, along with banks and other federal services.

Chase, Bank of America and Wells Fargo will include Juneteenth on their holiday schedules starting in 2022, according to Bloomberg.

What To Do If Your Bank Is Closed

Even if your bank branch is closed, there are a few ways to take care of most of your banking needs. The easiest option is to access your online bank account or use the bank’s mobile app. Thanks to the popularity of online and mobile banking, a number of online-only banks offer a full range of products and services that let you handle most of the banking tasks you could at a branch, including transferring money and making deposits.

A Better Way to Bank

Another option is to visit an ATM. Although the functionality of each machine is different, almost all will let you make withdrawals regardless of whether they’re in your bank’s ATM network. You can also make deposits at most in-network ATMs and even some that are out of your bank’s network.

Grocery Store Bank Branches

Finally, you can also inquire about whether or not there are certain branches remaining open even on holidays. Bank branches located inside of a grocery store, for example, will often keep the same hours as the store, even if most of that bank’s other branches are closed. So check to see if there are any nearby store locations that you can visit during bank holidays.

Cynthia Measom and Cameron Cole contributed to the reporting for this article.

Information is accurate as of August 9, 2022. This article was updated with additional information regarding Juneteenth on June 17, 2022.

Share This Article:

About the Author

Joel Anderson is a business and finance writer with over a decade of experience writing about the wide world of finance. Based in Los Angeles, he specializes in writing about the financial markets, stocks, macroeconomic concepts and focuses on helping make complex financial concepts digestible for the retail investor.

Best Bank Accounts of August 2022

Untitled design (1)
Close popup The GBR Closer icon

Sending you timely financial stories that you can bank on.

Sign up for our daily newsletter for the latest financial news and trending topics.

Loading...
Please enter an email.
Please enter a valid email address.
There was an unknown error. Please try again later.

For our full Privacy Policy, click here.